Development history

October 1954 Upon taking back control of the Capital, the physical infrastructure of the power sector in the North was composed of 5 power plants with a total capacity not exceeding 31.5 MW and the total power output of about 53 million kWh/year.

December 21, 1954 Uncle Ho Yen paid a visit to Yen Phu Power Plant and Bo Ho Lighting Factory. In this friendly meeting, Uncle Ho said: "This Power Plant now belongs to the people, and the Government. It is yours. In role of owners, you should preserve and further develop it…” Since that day, December 21 is marked as the Traditional Day of the Vietnam Power Sector .   


July 21, 1955  The Department of Power (under the Ministry of Industry and Trade) was established  according to Decision No. 169-BCT/ND/KB of the Ministry of Industry and Trade (signed by Vice Minister Dang Viet Chau). This was highlighted as a critical legal milestone for governance activities of State management bodies specialized and responsible for electric power areas.

Feb 21, 1961 The Department of Power was transformed into the General Department of Power according to Decision No. 86-TLĐL/QD of the Ministry of Irrigation and Power.

December 28, 1962 The Council of Government  decided to relocate the General Department of Power from the Ministry of Irrigation and Power to the Ministry of Heavy Industry. It then took back the initial name as Department of Power.

October 6, 1969 A Power Company was established (later changed to Power Company No. 1) under the Ministry of Power and Coal according to Decision No. 106/QD/TC of the Ministry of Power and Coal, undertaking the duty of electricity delivery and operating with an independent accounting scheme.  

October 7, 1975 Central Power Company was established (later changed to Power Company No. 3). Power Company No. 3 is currently a multi-industry company under Vietnam Electricity (EVN), with electricity delivery as the core business, operating in 13 provinces and cities in the Central Region and the Central Highlands of Vietnam.

August 7, 1976 The General Department of Power (established just after the Liberation Day) was renamed as Southern Power Company under Decision No. 1592/QD-TCCB.3 by the Minister of Power and Coal.

May 9, 1981 The Southern Power Company was renamed as Power Company No. 2 according to Decision No. 15/TTCBB.3 by the Minister of Power. On April 7, 1993, the Prime Minister issued Decision No. 147-TTg to incorporatePower Company No. 2 in the Ministry of Energy. From April 1, 1995, the Power Company No. 2 was re-established under the Electricity of Vietnam   (currently known as Vietnam Electricity).

1981 Ministry of Power came into being. 

April 11, 1994  National Load Dispatch Center (A0) was established according to Decision No. 180/NL/TCCB-LD by the Minister of Energy, undertaking the mission of securing the safe, uninterrupted and reliable operation of the national power system.  

January 1, 1995 Electricity of Vietnam  (EVN) officially came into being, undertaking electricity delivery business across the country.

October 8, 2007 Party Committee of Electricity of Vietnam was established at Decision No. 299 QD/ĐUK by the Party Committee of the Central Businesses.

June 22, 2006 Mother Holding Company -Vietnam Electricity Group was established according to Decision No. 148/2006/QD-TTG of the Prime Minister. On December 17, 2006, Vietnam Electricity Group was officially launched, marking a significant milestone of transforming the Power Sector into an Economic Group.

December 31, 2007 Electric Power Trading Company (EPTC) was founded   according to Decision No. 1182/QÐ-EVN-HÐQT of the Board of Directors of Vietnam Electricity.


July 4, 2008 National Power Transmission Corporation (EVNNPT) was established in the model of a single member limited liability company, 100% owned by the EVN, consisting of four Power Transmission Companies No. 1, 2, 3, 4 and three Northern, Central, and Southern Power Project Management Boards.  EVNNPT is responsible for investment, operation and management of the power transmission systems from 220 kV to 500 kV in the whole country.

April 2010 Power Companies No. 1, 2, 3, Hanoi Power Company, and Ho Chi Minh City Power Company were transformed into five Power Corporations: Northern Power Corporation (EVNNPC); Southern Power Corporation (EVNSPC);  Central Power Corporation (EVNCPC ); Hanoi Power Corporation (EVNHANOI ); Ho Chi Minh City Power Corporation (EVNHCMC).

June 25, 2010 The Mother Holding Company - Vietnam Electricity was transformed into a State Owned Single Member Limited Liability Company according to Decision No. 975/QĐ-TTg of the Prime Minister.

February 3, 2012 The Prime Minister approved establishment of three Power Generation Corporations under Vietnam Electricity to perform the power sector restructuring roadmap and promote the formation of Vietnam Competitive Generation Market.

June 1, 2012 The Minister of Industry and Trade decided to establish Power Generation Corporations  (GENCO 1, 2, 3) under EVN, operating in the model of mother - daughter company. The Power Generation Corporations (GENCO 1, 2, 3) have been officially launched and become operational since January 1, 2013.

December 6, 2013 The Prime Minister issued Decree No. 205/2013/ND-CP regarding Charter of Organization and Operation of Vietnam Electricity (effective as of February 3, 2014).


  • 23/02/2017 03:08